Making Plans

I’ve always been a fan and enabler of policy deployment.  When properly executed, a leader in the top of their field can empower their direct subordinates to in turn empower those below them, so on and so forth.  The trickle down effect of granting this kind of power, when done correctly, will make every member of the team rise to the top with you.  This kind of method requires the top brass to share their power, in a way, which also creates an environment of shared responsibility and accountability, and thus, the stress or burden is lifted.

Of course, when things go awry, the one at the top must answer for the fallacies.  Regardless, I feel that the effort of sharing the deployment, what we in the Alliance refer to as “dissemenation of duty,” is worth the risk when all are willing to put in the effort.

When the Normandy was sent to Eden Prime for its first shakedown, the basic policy was to go, inspect the ship, show it off, and carry on as usual.  However, we had a Spectre on board, a turian named Nihlus.  His presence alone created an atmosphere of uncertainty and perhaps a bit of mistrust as to the official reason for the visit. I had the choice, as the commanding officer, to remain tight-lipped (though I didn’t actually know why the Spectre was aboard, myself), or keep an open line of communication between myself, our Chief Navigational Officer), Helmsman, Chief Engineer, and the leader of our ground team. Above me was the ship’s captain, who had nothing to say about Nihlus’ reason for being there, so never brought it up, which is his MO.  Without guessing or giving opinions about Nihlus’ presence, I maintained that I would dissemenate the information and duties as I found out.

When I was finally debriefed on the situation, I was unable to run back and tell the team.  The helmsman learned about the time I did, and thus, he was able to inform the CNO and CE, respectively, in my absence.  Since I split time between XO and ground team and was dropping with said team, I was able to brief them in greater detail when we made landfall.

In this situation, sharing the responsibility of policy deployment with my CNO, CE, and Helmsman was paramount to the mission’s success or setback, depending on how those who know about the Eden Prime Incident view it. I viewed it as a massive setback, as Nihlus was killed, along with one of my younger soldiers, and the prothean beacon we were sent to pick up was destroyed, thanks to something causing me to involuntarily interact with it.  To top it off, we were shocked and overwhelmed by the massive and aggressive geth presence, and were lucky to make it off the planet in one piece.

Thanks to keeping the open line of communication between myself and those immediately below me, and thanks to them keeping lines open with their respective subordinates, when I was knocked out from the beacon bursting into pieces, everyone else was able to quickly fall into place and pick us up.

The open lines of communication, sharing the dissemination of policy, duty, and information, and everyone rising up to the top is what kept us from losing any other assets or people.

Thus, when it comes to making plans, be sure to include everyone below you, and remind them to include everyone below them.

This entry was posted in Leadership and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

